U-17 WC: England announce 21 member squad

first_imgU17 World Cup U-17 World Cup 2017: England announce 21 member squad Goal Last updated 2 years ago 17:11 26/9/2017 FacebookTwitterRedditcopy Comments(0) Rhian Brewster Callum Hudson-Odoi England U17 Getty Images U17 World Cup England U17 The Young Lions’ boss Steve Cooper has picked his group which will contest in the upcoming FIFA U-17 World Cup at India.. A 21-man group of England will make the trip to India for the biggest competition in youth football, where they will face Mexico, Chile and Iraq in the first round starting at Kolkata. Gaffer Steve Cooper has been able to call upon most of the players who helped England to qualify for the World Cup, after reaching the final of the U-17 European Championship last season. The squad enjoyed two warm-up games in September, drawing with Brazil in Shrewsbury before suffering a 2-1 defeat by South Africa in Leek.Added to that group is Jadon Sancho, who missed the September get-together whilst completing a switch from Manchester City to Borussia Dortmund. Chelsea midfielder Conor Gallagher has received his first England call-up, who has impressed with his form at Stamford Bridge for their U18s. Article continues below Editors’ Picks Why Barcelona god Messi will never be worshipped in the same way in Argentina Lyon treble & England heartbreak: The full story behind Lucy Bronze’s dramatic 2019 Liverpool v Man City is now the league’s biggest rivalry and the bitterness is growing Megan Rapinoe: Born & brilliant in the U.S.A. The Young Lions will travel to India later this week for a pre-World Cup training camp in Mumbai, where they will play a warm-up game with New Zealand on 1st October. After that, they will transfer to their base for the group stages in Kolkata where they open their World Cup campaign against Chile on 8th October. The second game will see them up against Mexico three days later before their final group match with Iraq on 14th October. A detailed guide on Steve Cooper’s young guns can be read here. The 21 member squad is as follows:GOALKEEPERS: Curtis Anderson (Manchester City), Josef Bursik (Stoke City), William Crelin (Fleetwood Town)DEFENDERS: Timothy Eyoma (Tottenham Hotspur), Morgan Gibbs White (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Lewis Gibson (Everton), Marc Guéhi (Chelsea), Joel Latibeaudiere (Manchester City), Tashan Oakley Boothe (Tottenham Hotspur), Jonathan Panzo (Chelsea), Steven Sessegnon (Fulham)MIDFIELDERS: Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Angel Gomes (Manchester United), Nya Kirby (Crystal Palace), George McEachran (Chelsea)FORWARDS: Rhian Brewster (Liverpool), Philip Foden (Manchester City), Callum Hudson Odoi (Chelsea), Danny Loader (Reading), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Emile Smith Rowe (Arsenal)last_img read more